VC SKUAST- Jammu nominated member ICFRE Society


Straight Line News Network

JAMMU MARCH 01: Professor J. P. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, SKUAST-Jammu has been nominated as a Member of Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) Society, Dehradun.

The letter in this regard was received from, Arun Singh Rawat, Director General, ICFRE. ICFRE is an Autonomous Body of the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Govt. of India. The Mission Statement of the ICFRE Society is to generate, preserve, disseminate and advance knowledge, technologies and solution for addressing the issues related to forests and to promote linkages arising out of interactions between people, forests and environment on a sustained basis through research, education and extension.

Professor Sharma is also a member to the General Assembly of the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR), New Delhi. Prof. J. P. Sharma is working as Vice-Chancellor of Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology of Jammu, J&K since 15th June 2020. Previously, he worked as Joint Director (Extension) and as Head, Division of Agricultural Extension and Director, Centre for Advanced Faculty Training (Extension) at Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi.

He has vast experience of 33 years conducting strategic research, guiding, teaching postgraduate students, conducting national/ international training programmes and carrying out agricultural development interventions at the national level. He earned his Doctoral degree from IIT, Delhi and Post Graduation from GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, and was awarded Fellowships from IIT, Delhi and UNDP respectively. He was associated with 20 externally funded projects; funded by ICAR, DST, DBT, NABARD etc and worked in 13 institutional research projects as PI/Co-PI.

Prof. Sharma Designed and developed innovative extension approaches like IARI-Post-Office Linkage Extension Model (Krishi Dak), Cyber Extension Model, Expert System, E-learning Module, National Extension Programme, IARI-VO Partnership Programme, Innovative farmer lead extension system etc for better and faster dissemination of technologies. He Introduced/taught 11 postgraduate courses in agricultural extension and guided 21 students as Chairman/Co-Chairman/Member, Advisory Committee.

He has Published 106 research papers in reputed journals, 283 popular articles in magazines and newspapers, 51 books, 60 book chapters and  Organized more than 100 trainings including National and International programmes as Course Director on the topics of national relevance. He is Member of various national and international Professional Committees and invited as consultants/expert for Planning Commission, DBT, DST, Vigyan Bharti (VIBHA), Member National Advisory board of Agrivision and AERC governing body. Prof. Sharma has also remained Coordinator of Mera Gaon Mera Gaurav (Government flagship scheme), Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (MoHRD), Pandit Deendayal Upadhaya Krishi Shiksha Yojana (MoA&FW).

He has received more than 60 awards/recognition including Dr Rajendra Prasad Puruskar and Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR, Best Agricultural Extension Scientist Award of IARI, Raj Bhasha Gaurav Puraskar of Ministry of Home Affairs, Shanti Prasad Goel Memorial Award, Manthan Award-South Asia and Dr G.S.Vidyarthi Award for making outstanding contributions for the upliftment of the farming community.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Kisan Sampark Abhiyan reaches out to more than 2 Lakh Farmers in J&K

With just seven rounds completed, KISAN SAMPARK ABHIYAN has...

Jammu’s Palli shines as carbon-neutral panchayat, while Kot Bhalwal dumping site remains an eyesore

Jammu: In a stark contrast of waste management practices...

Now BJP won’t have courage to allow polls in J&K, says Omar after Karnataka election results

SRINAGAR: Former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah Saturday said the...

Last date for applying online ATD-2023 extended till May 15

SRINAGAR: School Education Department has xtended last date of...